The great breastfeeding debate on the telly

Newsnight breastfeeding debate

Newsnight with babies (wonder where Paxman was hiding…) copyright BBC obv.

Two news programmes here in the UK tackled the heady issue of breastfeeding on British telly last night.

Most of Channel 4’s attempt made me pretty mad although Dr Ellie Lee (who also features in my book) was fifty shades of awesome if you can get past the first 4 minutes of breastfeeding eulogy which precedes her.

I love the bit when Dr Lee points out that most people do not have children as an “anti cancer strategy” in response to some unsubstantiated claim about breastfeeding and breast disease.

Also thanks to this programme I discovered that if everybody breastfed then nobody’s baby would need to see doctors. Who knew? Certainly nobody I have ever spoken to – I don’t believe i know a single baby – breastfed or bottle fed – who hasn’t had at least one trip to the GP in their first year. It’s just bullshit.

And then there was Newsnight on BBC2 (programme available on the BBC iPlayer for the next 7 days only – it’s about 25 mins in). The National Childbirth Trust (NCT) banged on about insufficient support for breastfeeding, completely ignoring the fact that it’s actually support for those who can’t or choose not to that is totally missing from the equation.

The last thing I needed was more “support” when it became very obvious that breastfeeding was not going to work. What I needed to know at that point was the best way to sterilise a bottle and which brand of formula was best for my hungry baby.

2 thoughts on “The great breastfeeding debate on the telly

  1. You are an inspiration. I have a five year old and a four year old. I wanted to breast feed when I had my first baby. She was in special care for the first three days. I was wheeled down to special care every 2 -3 hours night and day to feed her. This after a 36 hour labour and difficult emergency section. I persevered because I was made to feel that this was the only way. I cried, I begged. I was made to express inbetween feeds, an hour for about 10mls. At no point did anyone suggest that this was not good for me. When was I supposed to sleep? After 2 weeks, my nipples were shredded and I was in agony. I was lucky enough to have an older midwife who said enough! And suggested I stop. It was hard, but totally the right decision. Without her, I would have continued until god only knows what would have happened. I admire you for having the courage to stand up and say what is right! Breast is not always best! Well done!!!!

    • That sounds horrendous – I’m so sorry that you had such a terrible experience. It seems to me that common sense goes out of the window when it comes to coercing women into breastfeeding. Thank you for the wonderful support – If I am helping in even a tiny way, I’m very glad! x

Leave a Reply

